Cllr Timmons says ‘’I would appeal to all interested to make submissions and give feedback to SDCC in relation to the Traffic Calming programme of works for 2020 , I would also welcome feedback on the suggested list’’

For your information I attach a copy of the advertisement that will appear in the Irish Independent tomorrow.  The public consultation is from 4th November to the 3rd December. Submissions can be made using the SURVEY section of the Consultation Portal  Submissions can also be made by post.


Under Section 38 of the 1994 Road Traffic Act, a Road Authority may in the interest of the safety and convenience of road users provide such traffic calming measures as it considers desirable in respect of a public road in its charge. South Dublin County Council proposes to install traffic calming measures, subject to available funding at the following locations: –


PL = Public Lighting.

Note: On Bus Routes, Bus Cushions will be used, In all other locations, Standard 2.5m Ramp will be provided.


Rathfarnham/Templeogue/Firhouse/Bohernabreena Area

Ballymount Road. At Alan White Cars, Route 66, Lamartine Fireplaces. (3 locations) Bus Cushions

84, 94, 126, 144 and 160 Whitehall Road West. Bus Cushions

14 Shelton Drive

30 and 63 Shelton Park

3 and 26 Dangan Avenue

11, 47, 4, 97 and 127 Wainsfort Manor Drive

Orwell Park Avenue. At PL Column 8.

27 Silverwood Road

4 and 20 Silverwood Drive

11 and 29 Hillsbrook Avenue and PL Column 8

11 and 37 Ballyroan Heights

Palmers Park. At PL Columns 1 and 5.

12, 31 and 35a Pearse Brothers Park

Sarah Curran Avenue. At Pl Column No. 3

18, 25, 35 and 65 Barton Road West

Edmondstown Road National School. Bus Cushions At PL Columns 6, 19 and 20.

Scholarstown Road (at Woodfield Entrance). 2 No. Sets Bus Cushions.

7 and 16 Woodlawn Park Drive(Firhouse Road)

1, 15, 24, 36, 52, 109 and 137 Coolamber Park.

9 and 37 Glenvara Park.

4, 20 and 28 Hunters Lane.

18 Hunters Crescent

38 and 79 Hunters Avenue

51 Hunters Way

Whitechurch Road at the bridge adjacent to 1 Whitechurch road. – Narrowing road with build-outs


Clondalkin Area

61, 67, 25 and 8. Rathlawn, Rathcoole

3, 24 and 46 Woodford Drive

12 and 32 Knockmeenagh Road

8 Quarryfield Court, Knockmeenagh Road.

Station Road (from 9th Lock Road to Railway Bridge) PL Columns 3, 5 and 8.

15 and 30 St John’s Lawn. Reconstruction of existing Ramps to new design.

Bawnogue Road. PL Columns No’s 3, 8, 11 and 23. Bus Cushions

Clonburris Great (from Bawnogue Road to St Cuthberths Road). PL Colunmns 7, 12, 22, 27 and 31. Bus Cushions



Athgoe Road. PL(ESB) Columns 1 and 3.

Peamount Road. PL (ESB) Column 9. Bus Cushions

Main Street. PL (ESB) Columns 2, 7, 10, 25, 28, 30, 32, 38, 56, 60, 63, 66 and 69. Bus Cushions



Tallaght Area

1 Castle Road. Saggart.

Ballymount Road, Kingswood. PL Column 6.

Maplewood Road (Credit Union). PL Columns 27 and 30.

Killinarden Estate. PL Columns 153, 157, 159 and 162.

14 and 35 Dromcarra Avenue.

60, 70, 73 and 57 Tymon Crescent.

14 Mountain Park.

St Dominic’s Road. At Church. Pl Column 9..

72 and 29 Homelawn Road.

5 Homelawn Villas.

107 and 144 Homelawn Crescent and at Church.



Lucan/Palmerstown/North Clondalkin  Area

12 Moorfield Avenue.

16 Neilstown Avenue.

Neilstown Road. Pl Columns 4,6,8,10 and 12. All Bus Cushions

10 and 21 Greenfort Gardens.

10 Shancastle Park.

23 Shancastle Crescent.

Celbridge Road. (N4 to Cooldrinagh Lane) PL Columns 3, 6, 10, 14, 15 and 18. All Bus Cushions

27 Airlie Heights.

170 Kennelsfort Road Upper and one outside School and at PL Column 7 & 5 (Palmers Crescent and Cherry Orchard Industrial Estate). All Bus Cushions

Glenaulin Green. PL Column 6

Oakcourt Avenue. At PL Column 24




Submissions can be made using the SURVEY tab in South Dublin Council Council’s consultation portal.  Each proposed location is listed.  You can indicate whether you are ‘in favour’ or ‘against’ the proposed measure.  In order to achieve the best outcome for everyone, those in favour and against the measures proposed should complete the survey.  Only one submission per householdOnce works commence they cannot be reversed. Your preference on the proposed traffic ramps can be made as follows;

  • On South Dublin County Council’s Public Consultation Portal website under SURVEYS by midnight on 3rd December 2020.
  • In writing to the Senior Executive Officer, Roads Department, Land Use, Planning and Transportation, County Hall, Tallaght, Dublin 24, to be received on or before 5.00pm on 3rd  December 2020 simply stating the specific ramp locations and whether you are ‘in favour’ or ‘against’ only.   Submissions should be clearly marked “Traffic Calming Programme 2020”.

Please make your submission by one of the above methods only.  Only submissions received as set out above will be considered.  Submissions cannot be accepted in any other format or to any other postal address.

All submissions received will be considered and will form part of the Chief Executive’s report on the public consultation process which will be presented to the Council.